The Mentor Academy is a 6-month program that provides training and support for mid-career faculty to enhance their knowledge and skills in both research- and career-related mentoring. Mentor Academy participation is also an opportunity to share experiences and problem solve/co-mentor one another to advance their skills. The 20-hour evidence-based curriculum is adapted from one developed by the National Research Mentoring Network. Six major areas of competency are addressed: 
  1. Maintaining effective communications 
  2. Aligning expectations 
  3. Assessing understanding 
  4. Addressing equity and inclusion
  5. Fostering independence
  6. Promoting professional development

The Mentor Academy RFA is made available in the early fall of every year.

See the 2022 RFA Announcement


Program Spotlight: Mentor Academy

Download PDF



Mentoring Resources: Log In To View   

2022 Mentor Academy Participants

 Selwan Barbat

 

Selwan Barbat, MD, FACS, ASMBS

Title: Assistant Professor (Charlotte Region)
Department: General Surgery and Bariatric Surgery
selwan.barbat@atriumhealth.org
 
 Allison Holt

 

Allison Caban-Holt, PhD

Title: Associate Director (Winston Salem Region)
Department: Maya Angelou Center for Health Equity
a.caban-holt@wakehealth.edu
 
 Daniel Carrizosa

 

Daniel Carrizosa, MD, MS

Title: Associate Professor (Charlotte Region)
Department: Solid Tumor Oncology (Levine Cancer Institute)
Daniel.Carrizosa@atriumhealth.org
 
 Lindsey Chaudoin

 

Lindsey Chaudoin, MD

Title: Assistant Professor (Charlotte Region)
Department: Emergency Medicine
lindsey.chaudoin@atriumhealth.org

 Ryan Drenan

 

Ryan Drenan, PhD

Title: Professor (Winston Salem Region)
Department: Physiology & Pharmacology
rdrenan@wakehealth.edu
 
 Robert Gould

 

Robert Gould, PhD

Title: Assistant Professor (Winston Salem Region)
Department: Physiology and Pharmacology
rgould@wakehealth.edu
 
 Doug Jaffe

 

Doug Jaffe, DO

Title: Associate Professor (Winston Salem Region)
Department: Anesthesiology
jjaffe@wakehealth.edu
 
 Bethany Kerr, PhD

 

Bethany Kerr, PhD

Title: Assistant Professor (Winston Salem Region)
Department: Cancer Biology
bkerr@wakehealth.edu
 
 Paul Laurienti

 

Paul Laurienti, MD, PhD

Title: Professor (Winston Salem Region)
Department: Radiology
plaurien@wakehealth.edu

 Shawnta Lloyd - MACHE

 

Shawnta Lloyd, PhD, MPH

Title: Project Manager (Winston Salem Region)
Department: Maya Angelou Center for Health Equity (MACHE)
slloyd@wakehealth.edu

 Mozhdeh Marandi

 

Mozhdeh Marandi, MD, CCRC

Title: Research Coordinator (Winston Salem Region)
Department: Neurology
mmarandi@wakehealth.edu
 
 Julio Nino 

 

Julio Mateus Nino, MD, PhD

Title: Associate Professor (Charlotte Region)
Department: OBGYN
julio.mateusnino@atriumhealth.org
 Joan F. Schanck, MPA

 

Joan Schanck, MPA

Title: Chief Education Program Officer (Winston Salem Region)
Department: Regenerative Medicine
jschanck@wakehealth.edu
 
 Yusuke Shiozawa, MD, PhD  

Yusuke Shiozawa, MD, PhD

Title: Associate Professor (Winston Salem Region)
Department: Cancer Biology
yshiozaw@wakehealth.edu

 

 Nury  

Nury Steuerwald, PhD, HCLD (ABB)

Title: Associate Professor (Charlotte Region)
Department: Molecular Biology and Genomics Laboratory
nury.steuerwald@atriumhealth.org
 Roy E. Strowd III, MD, MEd, MS  

Roy Strowd, MD, MS, MEd

Title: Associate Professor (Winston Salem Region)
Department: Neurology
rstrowd@wakehealth.edu
 Stephanie Taylor  

Stephanie Taylor, MD, MS

Title: Associate Professor (Charlotte Region)
Department: Internal Medicine
Stephanie.P.Taylor@atriumhealth.org
 Bradley Thomas  

Bradley Thomas, MD, FACS

Title: Associate Professor (Charlotte Region)
Department: General Surgery
bradley.thomas@atriumhealth.org