The Mentor Academy is a 6-month program that provides training and support for mid-career faculty to enhance their knowledge and skills in both research- and career-related mentoring. Mentor Academy participation is also an opportunity to share experiences and problem solve/co-mentor one another to advance their skills. The 20-hour evidence-based curriculum is adapted from one developed by the National Research Mentoring Network. Six major areas of competency are addressed: 
  1. Maintaining effective communications 
  2. Aligning expectations 
  3. Assessing understanding 
  4. Addressing equity and inclusion
  5. Fostering independence
  6. Promoting professional development

The Mentor Academy RFA is made available in the early fall of every year.

See the 2023 RFA Announcement


Program Spotlight: Mentor Academy

Download PDF



Mentoring Resources: Log In To View   

2023 Mentor Academy Participants

Bita 

 

Bita Nickkholgh, MD, PhD

Title: Associate Staff Scientist (Winston Salem Region)
Department: Wake Forest Institute for Regenerative Medicine
bnickkho@wakehealth.edu
 
 Samuel W. Centanni, PhD

 

Samuel Centanni, PhD

Title: Assistant Professor (Winston Salem Region)
Department: Physiology and Pharmacology
scentann@wakehealth.edu
 
 Rita Pilar Cervera-Juanes, PhD

 

Rita Cervera, PhD

Title: Associate Professor (Winston Salem Region)
Department: Physiology and Pharmacology
rcervera@wakehealth.edu
 
 Emily Van Meter Dressler, PhD

 

Emily Dressler, PhD

Title: Associate Professor (Winston Salem Region)
Department:Biostatistics and Data Science
edressle@wakehealth.edu

Lauren Fowler 

 

Lauren Fowler, PhD

Title: Professor (Charlotte Region)
Department: Physiology & Pharmacology
lafowler@wakehealth.edu
 
 Marc Kowalkowski

 

Marc Kowalkowski, PhD

Title: Assistant Professor (Charlotte Region)
Department:Center for Outcomes Research & Evaluation (CORE);
Internal Medicine
marc.kowalkowski@atriumhealth.org
 
 Head shot of Glenn Lesser, MD

 

Glenn Lesser, MD

Title: Professor (Winston Salem Region)
Department: Medical Oncology and Hematology; Internal Medicine
glesser@wakehealth.edu
 
 Sean Vincent Murphy, PhD

 

Sean Murphy, PhD

Title: Associate Professor (Winston Salem Region)
Department: Regenerative Medicine
semurphy@wakehealth.edu
 
 Caroline Reinke

 

Caroline Reinke, MD, MSHP

Title: Assistant Professor (Charlotte Region)
Department: Surgery
caroline.e.reinke@atriumhealth.org

 Christopher L. Schaich, PhD

 

Christopher Schaich, PhD

Title: Assistant Professor (Winston Salem Region)
Department: Surgery/Hypertension
cschaich@wakehealth.edu

 Ravi Nandan Singh, PhD

 

Ravi Singh, PhD

Title: Associate Professor (Winston Salem Region)
Department: Cancer Biology
rasingh@wakehealth.edu
 
 Anna Catherine Snavely, PhD 

 

Anna Snavely, PhD

Title: Assistant Professor (Winston Salem Region)
Department: Biostatistics and Data Science
asnavely@wakehealth.edu
 Stephanie Jean Sohl, PhD

 

Stephanie Sohl, PhD

Title: Assistant Professor (Winston Salem Region)
Department: Social Sciences and Health Policy
ssohl@wakehealth.edu
 
 David R. Soto Pantoja, PhD  

David Soto-Pantoja, PhD

Title: Associate Professor (Winston Salem Region)
Department: Surgery/Hypertension
dsotopan@wakehealth.edu

 

 Andrew Michael South, MD, MS  

Andrew South

Title: Associate Professor (Winston Salem Region)
Department: Pediatrics
asouth@wakehealth.edu
 Carla Strom  

Carla Strom, MLA

Title: Assistant Director, Operations (Winston Salem Region)
Department: Office of Cancer Health Equity
cstorm@wakehealth.edu
 Liliya M. Yamaleyeva, MD, MS, FAHA  

Liliya Yamaleyeva, MD, MS

Title: Associate Professor (Winston Salem Region)
Department: Surgery/Hypertension
lyamaley@wakehealth.edu