The Mentor Academy is a 6-month program that provides training and support for mid-career faculty to enhance their knowledge and skills in both research- and career-related mentoring. Mentor Academy participation is also an opportunity to share experiences and problem solve/co-mentor one another to advance their skills. The 20-hour evidence-based curriculum is adapted from one developed by the National Research Mentoring Network. Six major areas of competency are addressed: 
  1. Maintaining effective communications 
  2. Aligning expectations 
  3. Assessing understanding 
  4. Addressing equity and inclusion
  5. Fostering independence
  6. Promoting professional development

The Mentor Academy RFA is made available in the early fall of every year.

See the 2022 RFA Announcement


Program Spotlight: Mentor Academy

Download PDF



Mentoring Resources: Log In To View   



2021 Mentor Academy Participants

Rong Chen, PhD

 

Rong Chen, PhD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Physiology & Pharmacology
rchen@wakehealth.edu
 
Christina Kehl Cramer, MD

 

Christina Cramer, MD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Radiation Oncology
ccramer@wakehealth.edu
 
Tracy L. Criswell, PhD

 

Tracy Criswell, PhD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Regenerative Medicine
tcriswel@wakehealth.edu
 
Stephanie S. Daniel, PhD

 

Stephanie Daniel, PhD

Title: Professor
Department: Family and Community Medicine and SSHP, CTSI PCER
sdaniel@wakehealth.edu

Kylie Kavanagh, VMS

 

Kylie Kavanagh, VMS

Title: Associate Professor
Department: Pathology
kkavanag@wakehealth.edu
 
Ken T. Kishida, PhD

 

Kenneth Kishida, PhD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Physiology and Pharmacology
kkishida@wakehealth.edu
 
Michael Conor McCrory, MD, MS

 

Michael McCrory, MD

Title: Associate Professor
Department: Anesthesiology
mmccrory@wakehealth.edu
 
John S. Parks, PhD

 

John Parks, PhD

Title: Professor
Department: Internal Medicine- Section on Molecular Medicine
jparks@wakehealth.edu
 
Leslie B. Poole, PhD

 

Leslie Poole, PhD

Title: Professor
Department: Biochemistry
lbpoole@wakehealth.edu

 Sharon Letchworth - ADRC

 

Sharon Letchworth, PhD

Department: Internal Medicine/Section on Gerontology and Geriatric Medicine
Sharon.Letchworth@wakehealth.edu

Leah Bumgarner Templeton, MD

 

Leah Templeton, MD

Title: Associate Professor
Department: Anesthesiology
ltemplet@wakehealth.edu
 
Jillian Urban Hobson 

 

Jillian Urban, PhD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Biomedical Engineering
jurban@wakehealth.edu
 
Rebecca Erwin Wells, MD, MPH

 

Rebecca Wells, MD

Title: Associate Professor
Department: Neurology
rewells@wakehealth.edu