2023 MSRD Winners

Congratulations to each of our distinguished winners from the 2023 Medical Student Research Day!

October 16, 2023

Congratulations to all 124 students who presented at the 2023 Medical Student Research Day! It was great to see so many excellent posters and the large turnout at Biotech Place. The 2023 Medical Student Research Day was a wonderful event. We thank all of the presenting students, faculty mentors, faculty judges, CTSI support team, staff, and attendees for all they did to make this day such a success! We have been flooded with positive comments about the quality of the research conducted and the excellence of the student presenters. This represents a tremendous amount of work, all richly deserving of praise. Scroll down to see a list of the students with the most meritorious research posters who were selected for awards.

Here's the list of this year's 21 winners!

2023 MSRD Winners

First Place Overall

Hubert Fan

Acute pharmacodynamic responses to exenatide: Drug-induced increases in insulin secretion and glucose effectiveness

Mentor: Simeon Taylor, MD, PhD

First Place from MSRP

Elizabeth Zieser-Misenheimer

Use of the electronic frailty index to identify persons living with HIV at increased risk for aging-related complications

Mentor: Aimee Wilkin, MD, MPH

Second Place Overall

Joseph Criscitiello

Induction of Neurogenesis, Angiogenesis and Myelination at the site of Injury in Acute Traumatic Spinal Cord Injury

Mentor: Eric Marrotte, DO, PhD

Second Place from MSRP

Jinal Patel

Factors influencing HPV vaccine uptake among women in Nigeria: A mixed-methods study

Mentor: Ucheoma Nwaozuru, PhD

Third Place Overall

Ali Satchmei

Benefits of Peer-Led Intervention in Preparation for the Fourth Year of Medical School

Mentor: Kevin Hiatt, MD

Third Place from MSRP

Nicole Santella

Continuous Robotic Ultrasound for guiding Systemic Hemodynamics in Traumatic Brain Injury Patients (CRUSH TBI): Training and Implementation Protocol

Mentor: Aarti Sarwal, MD

Translational Science - T1: Bench to Bedside

Elsa Katarina Acosta

Development of Frontal Asymmetry and Diagnostic Indices for the Quantitative Evaluation of Unicoronal Craniosynostosis

Mentor: Christopher Runyan, MD, PhD

Translational Science - T2: Bedside to Community

Marissa Millard

Performance of the High-STEACS Pathway at 30 Days in a US Population

Mentor: Nick Ashburn, MD, MS

NIDDK Research Award (T35 Training Grant) from MSRP

Claudia Costa

Prevalence of Polycystic Ovary Syndrome in Youth with Hypertension Disorders

Mentor: Andrew South MD, MS

Meredith Award for Outstanding Health Equity Research

Caitlin Tedeschi

Association of Prenatal Tetanus-diphtheria-acellular pertussis (Tdap) Vaccine Receipt with Community-Level Socioeconomic Vulnerability

Mentor: Sarah Downs, MD, MPH, MEd

MSRD Excellence Awards

Irene Kuriakose (Group 1)

A Community-Based Participatory Research Partnership regarding Limited English Proficiency, Health, and Resource Access for Asian Americans in North Carolina

Mentor: Ana Dominique Sucaldito, PhD, MPH

Emily Alexander (Group 2)

Electronic Frailty Integrated with Social Needs: A Qualitative Assessment of the eFRIEND Project

Mentor: Kathryn Callahan, MD, MS

Zechariah Kearns (Group 3)

The High-Sensitivity HEART Pathway Safely Reduces Hospitalizations Regardless of Sex or Race

Mentor: Simon Mahler, MD, MS

Amol Garg (Group 4)

Evaluating formation of neotissue using SVF on sponge for volume replacement

Mentor: Ramon Llull, MD, PhD

Daniel Kaganov (Group 5)

A Use of a Superoxide Dismutase Mimetic to Protect Joint Soft-Tissue during Short and Long Duration Spaceflight

Mentor: Jeffrey Willey, PhD

Lauren Hostettler (Group 6)

Implementation Evaluation of a Novel Emergency General Surgery Handover: A Prospective Feasibility Study

Mentor: Samuel Carmichael, MD

Nicholas Gallardo (Group 7)

Factors Associated with Delayed Initiation of Adjuvant Radiation Therapy in Patients Treated Surgically for Head and Neck Cancer

Mentor: Joshua Waltonen, MD, FACS

Sofia Griff (Group 8)

Changes in hip coverage parameters and lumbar lordosis after posterior spinal fusion in Adolescent Idiopathic Scoliosis

Mentor: James Mooney, MD

Jacob Bhatti (Group 9)

Epidemiology of Traction Alopecia

Mentor: Amy McMichael, MD

Aaron McFarlane (Group 10)

Standardizing the Post-treatment Surveillance Schedule for Localized Esthesioneuroblastoma: a Systematic Review and Reconstructed Patient Data Meta-analysis

Mentor: Ryan Hughes, MD

Natalie DeRoche (Group 11)

The association of children's mental health with parental mental health and demographic/socioeconomic factors during the COVID-19 pandemic

Mentor: Callie Brown, MD, MPH