MSRD 2019 Winners Announced!

Celebrating the winners of the 2019 Medical Student Research Day

November 11, 2019

 2019 MSRD Winners

MSRD winners from left to right: Pooja Patil (T1 Translational Award), Lauren Cecilia Ehrhardt-Humbert (2nd Place), Michael Jones (T2 Translational Award), Adam Jorgensen (1st Place), Pooja Shah (Merit Award for Health Equity Research), Lauren West-Livingston (3rd place).

1st Place: 
Adam Jorgensen

Integration of Bioprinted Skin in Full-Thickness Wounds Promotes Epidermal Barrier Formation and Normal Collagen Organization

Mentor: Anthony Atala, MD


2nd Place: 
Lauren Ehrhardt-Humbert

Targeting c-KIT with mRNA Frameshifting Oligonucleotides as a Therapeutic Strategy for Mast Cell Neoplasia

Mentor: Glenn Cruse, PhD


3rd Place: 
Lauren West-Livingston

Development of a Multifunctionalized Tissue-Engineered Vascular Graft

Mentor: Sang Jin Lee, PhD


T1 Translation Science Award: 
Pooja Patil

A Muscadine Grape Extract Prevents Hypertension-Induced Diastolic Dysfunction and Aortic Damage in Association with Anti-fibrotic and Anti-oxidant Mechanisms 

Mentors: Ann Tallant, PhD and Patricia Gallagher, PhD


T2 Translational Science Award: 
Michael Jones

Patient Characteristics Associated with Missed Appointments in Pediatric Subspecialty Clinics

Mentor: Elizabeth Halvorson, MD, MS


Meredith Award for Health Equity Research: 
Pooja Shah

Knowledge, Attitudes, and HPV Vaccine Intention Among Women in South India: A Cross Sectional Study

Mentor: Avinash Shetty, MD

View more images from 2019 Medical Student Research Day here! 

Learn more about our Medical Student Research Program and our open call for Faculty Mentors to join our 2020 program!