Explore More at wakehealth.edu

Research Academy 2016 Cohort

Rita Bakhru, MD, MS

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Internal Medicine - Pulmonary
Research: ASPIRE: A Study to Promote Critical Illness Recovery in the Elderly
E-Mail: rbakhru@wakehealth.edu

 


Rhonda Bitting, MD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Internal Medicine - Hematology/Oncology
Research: MicroRNA-Mediated Immune Regulation in Men with Castration-Resistant Prostate Cancer
E-Mail: rbitting@wakehealth.edu

 

Amber Brooks, MD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Anesthesiology
Research: Risk Factors and Clinical Pain Correlates in the Aging Population
E-Mail: akbrooks@wakehealth.edu


 

Clancy Clark, MD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Surgical Oncology
Research: Impact of Activity Monitoring Systems and Perioperative Rehabilitation on Clinical Outcomes After Major Open Abdominal Cancer Surgery
E-Mail: cjclark@wakehealth.edu



Mark Ferris, PhD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Physiology/Pharmacology
Research: Neurobiological Mechanisms for Individual Differences in Development of Addiction-related Behaviors
E-Mail: mferris@wakehealth.edu

 

Rebecca Henderson, MD, PhD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Internal Medicine - Gerontology and Geriatric Medicine
Research: Impact of an Exercise Prescription Focused on Individual Fitness Deficits on Functional Response in Older Adults
E-Mail: rmyer@wakehealth.edu

 

Zanetta Lamar, MD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Internal Medicine - Hematology/Oncology
Research: Parameters for Monitoring of Patients with non-Hodgkin Lymphoma and Multiple Myeloma Treated with High Dose Steroids as Part of Standard Induction Chemotherapy
E-Mail: zlamar@wakehealth.edu


Zachariah McIver, DO

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Internal Medicine - Hematology/Oncology
Research: Photodepletion Techniques to Prevent Graft-versus-Host-Disease (GVHD) in Hematopoetic Stem Cell Transplantation
E-Mail: zmciver@wakehealth.edu

 

Sean Murphy, PhD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: WFIRM
Research: Development of Patient-Specific Physiologic Cystic Fibrosis Airway Models for Drug Screening and Evaluation
E-Mail: semurphy@wakehealth.edu

 

Candace Parker-Autry, MD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Obstetrics-Gynecology
Research: Sarcopenia and Functional Impairment May Impact Reponsiveness to Non-Surgical Management of Urinary Incontinence in Older Women
E-Mail: cparkera@wakehealth.edu



Jared Rowland, PhD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Neurobiology and Anatomy (VAMC)
Research: Functional Network "Phenotypes" Related to or Predictive of Symptom Presentation, Cognitive Impairment, and Change Over Time in Common Post-deployment Conditions
E-Mail: jrowland@wakehealth.edu


Yusuke Shiozawa, MD, PhD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Cancer Biology
Research: Ang II Expressed by Disseminated PCa Stimulates Sprouting of Sensory Neurons Innervating the Bone and Impact on Bone Pain
E-Mail: yshiozaw@wakehealth.edu

 

Aleksander Skardal, PhD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: WFIRM
Research: Development and Implementation of a Personalized Tumor-on-a-chip Platform for Optimizing Precision Medicine Therapies
E-Mail: askardal@wakehealth.edu

 

Kiran Kumar Solingapuram Sai, PhD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Radiology
Research: Novel Approach to Image Reactive Oxygen Species in Brain Using Radiolabeled Vitamin C Analogs
E-Mail: ksolinga@wakehealth.edu

 

David Soto-Pantoja, PhD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Hypertension and Vascular Research Center
Research: Role of CD47 in Development of Resistance and Formation of Metastasis
E-Mail: dsotopan@wakehealth.edu

 

Roy Strowd, MD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Neurology
Research: Determining the Competence of the Immune System of the First Year of Therapy in Patients with Malignant Glioma:  A Battery of Quantitative, Qualitative, and Functional Measures of Immune Readiness
E-Mail: rstrowd@wakehealth.edu


Alysha Taxter, MD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Pediatrics
Research: The Discriminatory Value of Biomechanical Measurements in Determining Disease Activity and Function in Children with Juvenile Arthritis
E-Mail: ataxter@wakehealth.edu

 

Jillian Urban, PhD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Biomedical Engineering
Research: Cumulative Exposure to Subconcussive Head Impacts on Youth Football Athletes
E-Mail: jurban@wakehealth.edu

 

Ashley Weaver, PhD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Biomedical Engineering
Research: Prognostic Tool for Lumbar Fracture Based on CT-derived Vertebral Cortical Thickness
E-Mail: asweaver@wakehealth.edu