Explore More at wakehealth.edu

Research Academy 2010 Cohort

Tina Brinkley, PhD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Internal Medicine: Gerontology and Geriatric Medicine
Research: Cardiac Imaging and Arterial Stiffness in Older Risk Patients
E-Mail: tbrinkle@wakehealth.edu

 

 

Mark Brown, PhD

Title: Instructor
Department: Pathology / Lipid Sciences
Research: Pathogenesis of Atherosclerosis and Clinical Complications of Coronary Heart Disease
E-Mail: mabrown@wakehealth.edu

 

 

Susan Butler, PhD

Title: Associate Professor
Department: Otolaryngology
Research: Silent Aspiration and Pneumonia in Community-Dwelling Older Adults
E-Mail: sbutler@wakehealth.edu

 

 

Michael Cartwright, MD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Neurology
Research: Diagnostic Ultrasound for Focal Neuropathies
E-Mail: mcartwri@wakehealth.edu

 

 

Billy Chacko, MD

Title: Fellow
Department: General Surgery: Vascular Medicine
Research: Imaging Techniques & Clinical Correlates of Renal & Retinal Microvasculature in Hypertension & Other Disease States
E-Mail: bchacko@wakehealth.edu


 

Cristin Ferguson, MD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: General Surgery: Orthopaedics
Research: Oxygen Tension on Human Meniscus Tissue Engineering
E-Mail: ferguson@wakehealth.edu

 

 

Adam Gower, MD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Pediatrics, Genomics and Personalized Medicine
Research: Pediatric asthma
E-Mail: wgower@wakehealth.edu

 

 

Kristen Hairston, MD, MPH

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Internal Medicine: Endocrinology
Research: Dietary Fiber as  Predictor of Fat Accumulation and CVD Risk
E-Mail: kghairst@wakehealth.edu

 

 

Denise Houston, PhD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Internal Medicine: Gerontology and Geriatric Medicine
Research: Vitamin D, Polymorphisms and Physical Function in Elders
E-Mail: dhouston@wakehealth.edu

 

 

Kylie Kavanagh, DVM, MS

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Pathology: Comparative Medicine
Research: Heat Shock Proteins in Metabolic Health
E-Mail: kkavanag@wakehealth.edu

 

 

Victor Ortega, MD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Internal Medicine: Pulmonary, Critical Care, Allergy and Immunologic Disorders; Genomics and Personalized Medicine
Research: Pharmacogenetics and the Role of Rare Variants in Asthma
E-Mail: vortega@wakehealth.edu


 

Rudy Pascual, MD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Internal Medicine: Pulmonary, Critical Care, Allergy and Immunologic Disorders; Genomics and Personalized Medicine
Research: Asthma Phenotypes in Severe Asthma Research
E-Mail: rpascual@wakehealth.edu


 

Mac Robinson, PhD

Title: Research Fellow
Department: Genomics and Personalized Medicine
Research: Genomics and Pathophysiology of Asthma
E-Mail: macrobin@wakehealth.edu

 

 

Kate Saul, PhD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Biomedical Engineering
Research: Rotator Cuff Rupture and Approaches to Repair
E-Mail: ksaul@wakehealth.edu

 

 

Sean Simpson, PhD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Public Health Sciences: Biostatistical Sciences
Research: Modeling Methods for Age-related Whole Brain Analyses
E-Mail: slsimpso@wakehealth.edu

 

 

Rebecca Slager, PhD, MS

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Genomics and Personalized Medicine
Research: Genetics of Asthma Severity
E-Mail: rslager@wakehealth.edu

 

 

LaChelle Waller, PhD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Genomics and Personalized Medicine
Research: Bioinformatics Approaches to Exome Sequencing
E-Mail: lmwaller@wakehealth.edu