Explore More at wakehealth.edu

Research Academy 2017 Cohort

Elizabeth Alli, PhD Elizabeth Alli, PhD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Cancer Biology
Research: Targeting Defective DNA Repair for the Prevention of BRCA1‑Associated Cancers
Email: ealli@wakehealth.edu


Katharine Batt, MD Katharine Batt, MD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Internal Medicine
Research: Decision Analysis Study of How Patients with Hemophilia Make Decisions About Their Care
Email: kbatt@wakehealth.edu


Callie Brown, MD, MPH Callie Brown, MD, MPH

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Pediatrics
Research: Defining Picky Eating and Its Relationship to Feeding Behaviors and Obesity
Email: calbrown@wakehealth.edu


Christina Cramer, MD Christina Cramer, MD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Radiation Oncology
Research: Neuroimaging and Genomic Biomarkers of Radiation-Induced Cognitive Decline in Glioblastoma
Email: ccramer@wakehealth.edu


Anushree Karkhanis, PhD Anushree Karkhanis, PhD

Title: Instructor
Department: Physiology/Pharmacology
Research: The Effects of Chronic Early-Life Stress on The Kappa-Opioid Receptor Modulation of Dopamine and Glutamate Transmission in the Nucleus Accumbens and on Ethanol Intake
Email: akarkhan@wakehealth.edu


Bethany Kerr, PhD Bethany Kerr, PhD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Cancer Biology
Research: CD117 Signaling As a Mechanism of Prostate Cancer Metastasis
Email: bkerr@wakehealth.edu


Kenneth Kishida, PhD Kenneth Kishida, PhD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Physiology/Pharmacology and Neurological Surgery
Research: Neurobiology of Dopamine and Serotonin Signaling During Social Exchange in Humans
Email: kkishida@wakehealth.edu


Heidi Munger Clary, MD, MPH Heidi Munger Clary, MD, MPH

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Neurology
Research: Use of a Packaged Intervention of Systematic Screening and Pharmacotherapy to Improve Quality of Life for Epilepsy Patients with Co-Morbid Anxiety and Depression
Email: hmungerc@wakehealth.edu


Chandylen Nightingale, PhD Chandylen Nightingale, PhD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Social Sciences and Health Policy
Research: Enhancing Caregiver Communication and Patient Care for Dysphagia in Head and Neck Cancer Caregivers
Email: cnightin@wakehealth.edu


Maria Theresa Opina, MD Maria Theresa Opina, MD

Title: Fellow
Department: Internal Medicine Gerontology
Research: Mechanisms Associated with Breathlessness and Physiologic Correlates Related to Obesity and Behavior Exercise Interventions in Sedentary Older Adults
Email: mopina@wakehealth.edu


Elaheh Rahbar, PhD Elaheh Rahbar, PhD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Biomedical Engineering
Research: The Role of FADS Genomic in the Differential Responses and Outcomes to Severe Injury
Email: erahbar@wakehealth.edu


Shailaja Raj, MD Shailaja Raj, MD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Hematology/ Oncology
Research: Alterations in TNF Family Receptors/Ligands with Aging Inhibit the Generation of an Anti-Sarcoma Immune Response
Email: sraj@wakehealth.edu


Christopher Schaich, PhD Christopher Schaich, PhD

Title: Instructor
Department: Surgery/Hypertension
Research: Integrative Control of Cardiovascular Function with a Special Focus on the Autonomic Nervous System and Potential Interactions with the Endocannabinoid System
Email: cschaich@wakehealth.edu


Stephanie Sohl, PhD Stephanie Sohl, PhD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Social Sciences and Health Policy
Research: A Behavioral Integrative Intervention for Reducing Cancer‑Related Fatigue
Email: ssohl@wakehealth.edu


Andrew South, MD Andrew South, MD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Pediatrics
Research: The Altered Renin-Angiotensin System in Pediatric Essential Hypertension and Resultant Cardiac and Renal Disease
Email: asouth@wakehealth.edu


Rakhee Vaidya, MBBS Rakhee Vaidya, MBBS

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Hematology/Oncology
Research: Blood and marrow transplant, hematologic malignancies, lymphomas
Email: ravaidya@wakehealth.edu


Hariom Yadav, PhD Hariom Yadav, PhD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Internal Medicine/ Molecular Medicine
Research: The Role of Gut Microbiome Modulators, Primarily Probiotics and Short Chain Fatty Acids (Scfas) in Ameliorating Obesity and Diabetes
Email: hyadav@wakehealth.edu