Explore More at wakehealth.edu

2017 Medical Student Research Day Awards

The Medical Student Research Program (MSRP) identifies research opportunities by pairing rising 2nd year WFSM medical students with faculty mentors for a 9-week summer research experience. All students must present a poster describing their research findings at Medical Student Research Day (MSRD) held each October.

Julie A. Freischlag, MD, Chief Executive Officer of Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center and Interim Dean of Wake Forest School of Medicine presented the keynote address, “Bloom Where You're Planted” at the 2017 Medical Student Research Day on October 4.

2017 Medical Student Research Day Winners

Winners from left to right: Catherine Moore, Sapna Pathak, James Sears, Niobra Keah, Lauren Blaha, Katia Perez

Six awards were given for medical students with outstanding research posters. Click on their poster title to view poster.

Overall - First Prize
Catherine Moore
The Use of Nanoparticles as a Novel Treatment for Staphylococcus aureus Skin Lesions
Mentor: Nicole Levi-Polyachenko, PhD, Department of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery

Overall - Second Prize
James Sears
Silver Nanoparticles Combine Specific Cytotoxicity, Photothermal Therapy, and Radiosensitization for Treatment of Triple-Negative Breast Cancer
Mentor: Ravi Singh, PhD, Department of Cancer Biology

Overall - Third Prize
Sapna Pathak
A Pilot Study of Neuromuscular Ultrasound as a Biomarker for ALS
Mentor: Michael Cartwright, MD, Department of Neurology

Translational Science - T1: Bench to Bedside
Lauren Blaha
Using High Dimensional Flow Cytometry and Machine Learning to Evaluate T Cell Function in Hematopoietic Stem Cell Transplant Patients Undergoing Graft-Versus-Host Disease
Mentor: Jason Grayson, PhD, Department of Microbiology and Immunology

Translational Science - T2: Bedside to Community
Katia Perez
Efficacy of Implementing the Children’s Oncology Group Long-Term Follow-up Guidelines in the Early Screening of Treatment-Related Toxicity in a Pediatric Cancer Survivorship Clinic
Mentor: Adam Esbenshade, MD, MSCI, Department of Pediatrics, Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center

Meredith Award for Outstanding Healthy Equity Research
Niobra Keah
Microaggressions in the Community and Surgical Care Settings: Evidence and Strategies for Improvement
Mentor: William Ross, MD, Department of Orthopaedics, Nth Dimensions

Thanks to all the students who participated, to the mentors who guided them in their projects, and to all who attended the event.

See the photo album from the 2017 MSRD!