Explore More at wakehealth.edu

Research Academy 2018 Cohort

Parissa Ballard

Parissa Ballard, PhD
Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Family and Community Medicine
Research:  Volunteering as Part of Treatment for Adolescent Depression
Email: pballard@wakehealth.edu

Erin Barnes, MD

Erin Barnes, MD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Internal Medicine/Infectious Diseases
Research: Development of an E.H.R. Case Identification Tool for Intravenous Drug Use Infective Endocarditis (IDU-IE)
Email: ewbarnes@wakehealth.edu

Amber Brooks, MD, MS

Amber Brooks, MD, MS

Title: Associate Professor
Department: Anesthesiology
Research: Development of Behavioral eHealth Treatment for Obese, Older Adults with Chronic Low Back Pain
Email: akbrooks@wakehealth.edu

Shivani Ghoshal, MD

Shivani Ghoshal, MD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Neurology/Neurocritical Care
Research: Cerebrovascular Changes and Autoregulation in End-Stage Renal Patients Initiating Dialysis: An Observational Longitudinal Pilot Study
Email: sghoshal@wakehealth.edu

Thomas Lycan, DO, MHS

Thomas Lycan, DO, MHS

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Internal Medicine/Hematology-Oncology
Research: Patient-Reported Outcomes of Respiratory Tract Cancer Patients Receiving Combination Chemo/Immunotherapy
Email: tlycan@wakehealth.edu

Sarah Martindale-Supak, PhD

Sarah Martindale-Supak, PhD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Psychiatry and Behavioral Health
Research: Effects of Sleep on Cognition in Veterans with Alcohol Use Disorder
Email: smartind@wakehealth.edu; Sarah.Martindale-Supak@va.gov

Deepak Palakshappa, MD

Deepak Palakshappa, MD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: General Internal Medicine
Research: Impact of Food Insecurity on Obesity Care for Obese Children and Adults
Email: dpalaksh@wakehealth.edu

Ellen Quillen, PhD
Ellen Quillen, PhD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Internal Medicine/Molecular Medicine
Research: Integrative Multi-omic Investigation of Age-related Changes in Trabecular Bone
Email: equillen@wakehealth.edu

Jaime Speiser, PhD

Jaime Speiser, PhD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Public Health Sciences/Biostatistical Sciences
Research: Development of a Binary Mixed Model (BiMM) to Identify Optimal Predictors for Mobility Disability
Email: jspeiser@wakehealth.edu

Kimberly Wagoner, DrPH, MPH

Kimberly Wagoner, DrPH, MPH

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Public Health Sciences/Social Sciences and Health Policy
Research: Consumer Perceptions of E-cigarette Health Claims: Impact on Consumer Behavior
Email: kwagoner@wakehealth.edu

Nadeem Wajih, PhD

Nadeem Wajih, PhD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Physics
Research: Protective Effects of Nitrate/Nitrite Bioactivation on Endothelium Dysfunction in Atherosclerosis
Email: nwajih@wfu.edu


 

 

Alan Woodruff, MD

Alan Woodruff, MD

Title: Assistant Professor
Department: Anesthesiology, Pediatric Critical Care
Research: Sirtuins Modify Muscle Catabolism and Physical Strength Following Burn Injury
Email: agwoodru@wakehealth.edu