Faculty Research Awards

2019 Research Award Recipients: See The Awardees

The Wake Forest School of Medicine (WFSM) is proud to present this year’s research award categories, qualifications and requirements.  As you will see, we have added four new awards this year and simplified the application process.  We hope you will consider nominating your faculty colleagues.   

Categories and Awards Overview

  • Note 1: complete categories, qualifications, and requirements for each award can be found at the foot of this page.
  • Note 2: Number of awards listed represents anticipated distribution, however that number is subject to change.  The review committee reserves the right to name multiple awardees within a category or to name no awardees within certain categories based on the review of nominees. 

Early-Career Faculty:   1 assistant professor basic/translational scientist / 1 assistant professor clinical/population scientist
Mid-Career Faculty:  1 assistant professor basic/translational scientist / 1 assistant professor clinical/population scientist
Established Faculty:  1 full professor basic/translational scientist / 1 full professor clinical/population scientist  
Clinician Investigator:  1 successful clinician investigator of any rank who devotes greater than 50% effort to clinical duties
 1 faculty member of any rank who contributes significantly to innovation and entrepreneurship 
aLHS:  1 investigator of any rank who contributes significantly to Wake Forest’s transformation to an Academic Learning Health System  
Mentoring:  1 Associate Professor or higher who has played a significant role in mentoring successful faculty 
Established Team:  1 active cross-disciplinary team working on a project   that has made highly significant research contributions with notable scientific or clinical impact 
New Team:  1 recently formed multi-disciplinary team collaborating on a new, innovative project 
Special Achievement:  1 professor with significant history of high-level contributions to WFSM Research Environment. To be named by Drs. Freischlag & Burke.    

Award Categories